WT2 - rejecting job offer. postive or negative?

Post your Task 1 or 2 response and/or read the responses of other students and provide feedback.
bench

WT2 - rejecting job offer. postive or negative?

Post by bench »

Topic: Sometimes people are rejecting job opportunities due to their age or other circumstances. Is this a negative or a positive approach? Give your opinion and provide relevant examples.

Nowadays, although there is a tight competition in landing a job, there are considerable number of people who can still afford to decline a job offer due to several factors. In my opinion, this approach has both positive and negative impact.

There may be some job offers that appeared lucrative when you first received them, but it seems not to be the best possible avenue for your abilities. When I was a newly graduate from nursing school, a job offer came stating that I will be working in out-patient department/clinics. When I learned about the job assignment, I turned down the offer as this area does not meet the job description I am looking for. Declining a job at first is very risk taking as there is no guarantee for the next offer. But, once the opportunity comes that suits your desired goal, you will have the sense of professional fulfillment and see yourself efficient at work.

However, turning down a job offer can sometimes pose a negative impact. Most of the time, job seekers refuse to sign a contract as it is not suitable for them. This rejection may waste your time and put you to the situation that you are already financially unable. The worst scenario is that you can no longer support even your basic needs. Because you are already desperate of finding a job, you accepted an offer which is too far from the education or experience you had.

For the reasons mentioned above, I believe that rejecting a job offer pose more negative impacts than positive ones.
Shreyas

Re: WT2 - rejecting job offer. postive or negative?

Post by Shreyas »